2002 – Valentino Rossi (Honda) qualified on pole and won the race from great rival Max Biaggi. This was the first of his seven successive victories in the premier-class at Mugello and also gave him the record of being the first rider to have won in all three classes at the Italian circuit.


2003 – The first all Italian podium in the premier-class at Mugello with Valentino Rossi (Honda) winning from Loris Capirossi and Max Biaggi. This win for Rossi also made Italy the most successful nation in the premier-class with 151 victories, one more than the USA.


2004 – The race was stopped after 17 laps when rain fell, and Rossi won the re-started race, which lasted just six laps – effectively the shortest premier- class race of all-time. This was Rossi’s first win at Mugello on a Yamaha and ended a sequence of eleven successive years of Honda riders winning at the circuit. This race is often remembered for the crash of Shinya Nakano on the main straight at over 190 mph when his rear tyre failed; this is considered the fastest ever crash in Grand Prix racing. Fortunately Nakano suffered only minor injuries.


2005 – Italian riders filled the top four places: Rossi, Biaggi, Capirossi, Melandri. This was the first time since 1968 that the first four riders across the line in a premier-class GP had all been Italian.


2006 – One of the closest races of the MotoGP era, which at times involved six riders battling for the lead. At the finish Valentino Rossi won from Loris Capirossi and Nicky Hayden, with less then three quarters of a second covering the podium finishers at the end of the race.


2007 – Valentino Rossi won for a sixth successive year at Mugello after he had got a slow start from third place on the grid that resulted in him finishing the second lap in 8th. After he had fought back to take the lead on lap nine he won comfortably from Dani Pedrosa, Alex Barros and Casey Stoner who had qualified on pole and led the race in the early stages.


2008 – Seventh successive win at his home race for Valentino Rossi – a feat that no other rider has achieved in the history of Grand Prix racing.


2009 – A wet-to-dry race won by Casey Stoner, giving Ducati their first ever MotoGP win in Italy. Rossi’s winning streak at Mugello came to an end, but he still managed a podium finish with third place. Second was Lorenzo who had crashed his bike on the sighting lap and started on his spare.


2010 – Probably most remembered for the accident to Valentino Rossi in the Saturday morning free practice session in which he fractured his right leg which caused him to miss a race for the first time after starting 230 successive races. Dani Pedrosa took a flag-to-flag victory from pole position and in the process gave Honda their first MotoGP win at Mugello since 2003.

Recommended Articles